What is the Record of Learning?
Your record of learning is a comprehensive display of all your achievements, competencies, courses, and programs, along with certifications that you have completed or are currently working on. It's an important tool that allows you to keep track of your progress and showcase your accomplishments.
If a user does not have any records in the Competencies, Courses, Programs, or Certifications sections then the tab will not show; the Other Evidence tab is always visible.
Whenever you get enrolled or assigned to any course, program, or certification, an entry is created in your record of learning. Once you make progress, this item will be displayed as a permanent entry in your record of learning, regardless of visibility settings.
The audience visibility option allows you to control who can see your courses, programs, and certifications. Whether or not audience visibility is turned on for a course, program, or certification will impact how it is displayed and accessed in the record of learning.
With audience visibility off:
- Course: Assigned users will see the course greyed out in their record of learning. They will also be unable to access the course by clicking it.
- Program/Certification: users assigned to the program will see the it in their record of learning. They can see the program content when clicked.
With audience visibility on:
- Course: If the course is set to No users, then people assigned to the course won't see it in their record of learning or required learning. It won't be possible to access it via the URL.
- Program/Certification: If the program is set to No users, then people assigned won't see it in their record of learning or required learning.
Completion status is an essential feature that allows you to filter your courses based on three states:
- Not yet started: Displays all courses with a 0% progress
- In progress: Displays courses with progress between, but not including, 0% and 100%
- Completed: Displays courses with a 100% progress
Recertification paths are an important feature that allows you to archieve a course and record your grades and completion details once finished, and then have the course reset to zero to take again.
Courses that are part of a recertification path, use the course archive feature, when this is done the learner’s grades and completion details are recorded and archived. Activity-level completion criteria will be reset for commonly used activities, such as seminars, forums, quizzes, and SCORMs. The reset process will be different for each activity. For example, a forum requiring three posts to fulfill completion requirements will clear the learner’s completion but will leave the forum posts visible so the learner has to post three more times to fulfill the completion requirements again.
- Quiz: Previous attempts are deleted to ensure learners have all allowed attempts available each time the course is retaken.
- SCORM: Previous attempts are deleted to ensure learners have to meet completion requirements each time the course is retaken.
- Assignment: Submitted attempts are deleted. The learner can then submit the assignment again.
Course Reset / Archive
The course reset/achieve feature allows you to reset the course completion records for all the users who have previously completed the course. This feature is useful when you want to retake a course and start from scratch. Once the course completion records have been archived, you can view the previous completions column in your record of learning, which will show you the date when you completed the course and the grade you received.
The course completion archive will not remove learners from the course, they will remain in the course but their progress will be set back to zero so that they can retake the course again.
Once the course completion has been archived the learner's record of learning will have a Previous completions column. The previous completions will show the past completions of the training with the grade and time of completion.